Well-well-well

In the last post I think I was saying something about being ‘on a spree’.. Weeeeeell, yeah, I’m kinda actually a bit over the line :)) , but that’s not a problem. I have a new single from Lennon’s collection, though it feels a bit like cheating, as it is a picture disc rather than a normal black vinyl.

Gene Vincent is one of those rock’n’roll legends you’ll inevitably love. He’s up there, in the same league with Elvis, Chuck Berry and Buddy Holly. And of course Lennon had something from him in his collection, I’m guessing Gene Vincent’s very first single – Woman Love/Be-Bop-A-Lula since both tracks appear on the compilation. I found it on ebay, but the shipping from USA is just too much to pay, as the record itself is a bit expensive.

The picture disc I bought includes Be-Bop-A-Lula and Rocky Road Blues, both, weirdly, on the only playable side. I have to admit I’m not a massive fan of picture discs, but the tracks are simply great. It appears to be part of a “Masters of Rock & Roll” collection released in Denmark from which I would like to find a few more titles, but hopefully on a simple black vinyl. Here’s the second track, Rocky Road Blues, which begins with the same prolonged ‘well’ that’s part of Gene Vincent’s signature rockabilly. And do try some more Gene Vincent, if you haven’t done so already.

Leave a Reply

